Reasons I Love Akagami no Shirayukihime

Shoujo. Oh no.

For non lovers of the Shoujo genre, this show may not appeal to them and being as there are many shoujo, romance/fantasy series out there Why is Akagami no Shirayuki one of the expections to the typical view upon the Shoujo cliche way?

I have been enjoying this series so much this summer season but while noticing others comparing this series to other cliche shoujo shows where we get a lot of “Senpai notice me” and the reserved shy girls who do not socialized and can’t say what they want. Not to say there is anything wrong with that I don’t mind that about Shoujo, it’s the shoujo way sometimes for lovers of this beloved genre, your not going to stop the Shoujoness. For those who are watching the show including me know this anime has surprised us a lot and it’s proving to be something more than the shoujo cliche way which is what I am here to tell you. I was inspired for this post by a fellow blogger JamesTalksAnime, she did a post not too long ago talking about the reasons she loves the anime Gangsta. (which I love a lot too currently). Her post got me thinking about how I feel Akagami no Shirayukihime stands a lot out differently from any other Shoujo/fantasy anime I have seen.

Akagami no Shirayukihime a.k.a Snow white with the red hair follows a herbalist Shirayuki who one day is called upon by Prince Raji the ruler of her homeland Tanbrun, she is demanded to present herself in front of his majesty and become his concubine. As the only reason the prince wants her is for her rare red hair, To avoid this Shirayuki cuts off her hair and flees elsewhere. Along the way she meets charming, funny Zen whom saves her from Prince Raji grasp and reveals he is a prince himself of a city called Clarines, Zen offers Shirayuki the option to go live in his city and ends up agreeing.

So sounds exciting to a non lover of this genre RIGHT?
 Possibly Not. 

Let me shed some light here on our two main characters Zen and Shirayuki, I will start with Shirayuki quickly this leading lady has become a favorite this season and she is not to be trifled with. It was very unexpected that she is one of the most strongest female heroines we have seen in a long time, her character is so easy to fall in love with in my opinion. From towards the end of episode one I was left surprise, this girl she’s got guts and balls and she has shown this through each episode. No matter what tries to block her road she will keep on walking so it’s very easy for Shirayuki to be one of first things you might like about this anime. In each episode she always reflects upon of what is most important and her ambitions, goals that she is striving towards, her character just beams with this determination and that trait about her is iconically hard not to forget.

Her character has grown on me quite a lot and each episode she inspires me with her outlook on things and cherishing every opportunity there is out there. She is a girl on a mission. It’s a bonus that she is so warm hearting and kind of hard for Zen not to love.

yeh so she’s got some gumption why should that interest me? Well you have to be the judge of that I have explained above my thoughts on her character. Shirayuki is not just the glue to this anime, Zen is other half that breathes re freshness into this so called fairytale.


As I said up above Zen is the refreshing breeze in this anime for me, I say because some princes I have seen in many anime’s/movies they always end up on so cliche as a prince should be. Overly charming, saves the damsel and have zero personality at the end of the day it can get boring but Zen is the exception in my opinion. There is the one scene in Episode one when he comes over the wall in dazzling/sparkles….Yep his character will be interesting No.…that is exactly what I thought but soon as his character was introduced. I was totally wrong yes Zen does have that prince charm about him but the charm he brings his heart warming and genuine. I always have those feels when it comes to scenes with him and Shirayuki, him and her are both very similar on having this open outlook about the world, Hence why these two relate so well on that level.

Zen knows his obligations and duties as a prince but of course like any he has to get away some of the time but it’s quite amusing to watch through his character. In his character he has this beautiful balance of childish/stubborn side, charm and responsibility all of these put together make it so refreshing from your typical prince like character.

Zen can save me anytime… >.<

The scenes with Zen and Shirayuki are so precious to me in this anime, my excitement always builds when you know one is coming. Their relationship is one of the fundamental themes that bring that heart warming charm to this series, together they are both very similar in characteristics trying to find the place they are going to. It’s a joy to watch them grow as characters and through them is shown the determination we all get in order to reach our goals and dreams, yes we do see this attribute in a lot of anime’s but it’s spoken clearly through this series. I am currently up to Episode eight and we get to see some backstory of Zen which I was not expecting to be a bit bloody this has added some fuel to the fire, I like of where the anime is currently going. I don’t know how this show can not give you any feels or make you go Aww because whether you like it or not it’s going to.

Akagami no shirayukihime I feel has a good cast of characters particularity I am very fond of Zen’s three merry group Mitsuhide, Obi and Kiki. They are quite amusing and funny at times Mitsuhide I adore him and how cares a lot about Zen’s welfare he is the perfect underling to have haha. Obi he is still a bit of mystery but I love his ninja ways to seek out information and has a very cheeky personality. Kiki is like a mother at time’s to Zen again like Mitsuhide she cares a lot about Zen’s welfare and she is very loyal. I’m glad each of them you can define all their characters otherwise would just be boring to have silent soliders following you the whole time in this anime.


That crystal clear anime I wouldn’t pass this to write about, This is for me is some of the best fantasy animation I have seen in a long time. It screams out that fantasy elemental plus it’s just so visually beautiful to look at, I adore it so much ❤

Akagami no Shirayukihime is already a blooming blossom this summer season and has captured many hearts with it’s charming characters, insanely good animation and romance/fantasy attributes. To break up all that heavy drama is squeezed in there comedic parts which is one of the main things I love about this fantastic show, If you are not watching this show and you love romance anything Just go forthNOW!!!

Here I will help:
Link to watch anime

I hope I’ve been able to shed some light on this gorgeous show for you, it’s Shoujo but it’s not your average Shoujo which what it makes it so special to me and already has become one of my favorites of this season ❤ Only thing I have to point out about this show is I don’t know why they added the snow white part in there makes no sense to me only the red hair part does. >.<
I enjoyed writing this post I may do some other ones for the other summer seasons instead of reviews as my backlog for reviews currently is urm… floating on top. I have decided to start reading/collect the manga as I fell in love with this show so much let me know if anyone is reading the manga would love other’s opinion.

Comment below any thoughts you have about this post 🙂

I’ll see you in the next post! 😀 
LitaKino

zen hugging

Ahhh so precious and adorable ❤ 

8 thoughts on “Reasons I Love Akagami no Shirayukihime

  1. I agree with a lot of the points you made… actually I’ve grown quite fond of this anime especially because it’s not the typical shoujo! Shirayuki and Zen are both beautiful characters, with strong personalities and in the same time they complete each other so well… It’s a pleasure to watch 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s on my list and your description makes me interested in it, but probably won’t start on it until they finish airing season 2 (which won’t be until 2016, unfortunately). I kind of shied away from the genre in the past, but more fantasy orientated titles like Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii and Akatsuki no Yona as well as Blue Spring Ride is a nudge in the right direction. Still managed to hit a few duds were the male usually leads the female around (Wolf Girl and Black Prince) or stuff I liked that fell slightly short of the mark (Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would have binged watched it to but I was too impatient but I don’t mind for this anime most other ones I wait till the season has finished then marathon the whole thing 🙂 I have mixed feelings about wolf girl and black prince I never finished it I might revisit that one ^^

      Like

  3. Wow, I adore this show too! I love how Shirayuki can handle herself. She’s smart and got herself out of tons of tough situations. They don’t over sexualize her or make her a complete damsel. Her friendship with Zen is adorable and when the romance begins, it never cheapens the show.

    I hope Funimation makes a home release for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This anime is wonderful isn’t it?! The characters are great, as you’ve said, I love the art. There’s such a nice detail with a slight fairy tale feel to it. And the music is A-MAZ-ING. 😀

    Thanks for linking to my blog, I’m so happy it inspired this post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

